Award winning outback romance

I am excited to announce my new book – just in time for the Royal wedding. Marrying The Rebel Prince, a light-hearted romantic read, is available to pre-order now..

Janet

1 2 3 31

A royal wedding invitation

My very pretty cover. It’s so romantic.

I’m very excited about the upcoming royal wedding. No… not THAT royal wedding.

This month, I have a new book out – Marrying The Rebel Prince.

It’s a Cinderella story – and everyone loves a Cinderella story. I actually wrote it before Prince Harry and Meghan Markle announced their engagement, but it seemed a lovely idea to release it just before that wedding.

I had such fun writing this book, its light hearted and romantic and I really want the heroine to be my BFF. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Move over Oscar

This week saw the Romantic Novelists’ Association RoNA Awards event. This is one of the highlights of my year – and even more so this year as I was one of the shortlisted authors. Wedding Bells by the Creek didn’t win it’s category, but that’s ok. The award went to my friend Jane Lovering – who writes funny, uplifting romances. She certainly deserved to win.

The evening was brilliant – a chance to catch up with friends and to celebrate some wonderful books and their equally fabulous authors. We writers spend a lot of time chained to our desks. We don’t get out that much. But when we do….

I am already looking forward to next year.

 

The RoNA ROSE shortlist – with the winner, Jane Lovering on the right.

 

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

It’s TV but not as I knew it

Being a TV reporter involved a lot of people and equipment.

I started my writing career as a TV journalist at Channel 7 in Brisbane, Australia in 19… umm. Let’s not go there. Let’s just say I was a teenager and leave it at that. My first TV interview involved a big camera and a large hand-held microphone. There were lights and sometimes a person whose job it was just to check the sound. For those interviews, I was behind the microphone asking questions.

A few days ago, for my most recent interview, I was in front of the camera answering questions. As for the way it was done, it was so far from those early TV jobs that it was like being in another world. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

I am honoured to announce…

Thank you to the readers who liked Ed and Helen’s story.

I am absolutely thrilled to announce that Wedding Bells By The Creek has been shortlisted for the RoNA ROSE Award, presented by the Romantic Novelists’ Association. The award is for a romantic novella, and I am one of five on the shortlist.

This book tells the story of an older couple – who have taken more than their fair share of knocks in their lives. It’s a book that says love and romance is for everyone – not just the young and beautiful. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Emily, The Jedi and Me.

I know he wasn’t wearing the silly helmet when he recorded The Heights – but I might pretend he was.

I’ve been having some Sci Fi fun.

It started with the news that the audio edition of The Heights had been recorded ready for release. The actor who read the book was Jonathan Oliver. I immediately google him and found out that he’d played a role in Star Wars : Return of the Jedi. Ok – he was on the wrong side, but I still had an excited fan moment …. The original Star Wars films are among my favourite films of all time. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

The Heights on tour

This week, The Heights sets out on a blog tour.

It’s always a nervous time for me when a book goes out into the world. I have my fingers crossed that people like it.

If you want to know a bit more about the book – stop by the blogs.

Monday 8th Jan – Bookish Jottings

Tuesday 9th Jan – Varietats

Wednesday 10th Jan – BRMaycock’s Book Blog

Thursday 1tth Jan – Charyl M M’s Book Blog

I don’t know what any of the reviewers are going to say in advance – but I have been thrilled at the Amazon reviews already …

” Emily Brontë’s themes stand the test of time and this collaboration is a compelling tribute. Definitely recommend. Five stars. ”

” I stayed up until silly o’clock in the morning to finish it … ”

” I read it in one reading, it was so riveting. ”

” Yes, it works – I did enjoy it, and to do so you really don’t need to be a fan or to be familiar with the original story. ”

Those are the sorts of things that make my day, because when all is said and done, I write books for readers.

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Publication Day!

Today is the best day of a writer’s calendar… it’s publication day for a new book.

It’s also the birthday of a new writing identity… Juliet Bell.

The book is The Heights – a book I’ve been wanting to write for a very long time. It’s an adaptation of Wuthering Heights, which is one of my all-time favourite books.

Wuthering Heights is one of those books that people tend to either love or hate. It’s dark and disturbing and the characters tend to also be dark and not particularly likeable. Many, many people die in Wuthering Heights and it doesn’t exactly have a happy ending. While it’s often referred to as romantic novel, I don’t think it is. It’s a look at the darker side of relationships, and for me is totally compelling. I’ve read it many times, and no matter how familiar the story is, it always captivates me. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

It’s that time again…

I cannot think where this year has gone – it seems to have passed in a flash.
It has been an exciting year for me – and I want to say a big thank you to all my lovely readers, friends and supporters who have shared it with me. I hope you have a wonderful holiday season, filled with the people you love and things to make you smile.
2018 is just around the corner – and I wish nothing but happiness for you and yours in the year ahead.
I looked forward to sharing my year with you.

 

 

 

 

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

A new book and a new me.

Here it is – introducing Juliet Bell.

I’m really pleased to at last be able to reveal some exciting news. I’ve been keeping this secret for what seems like forever… but now I can announce that I have new book coming out soon – in a new genre, with a new name and a writing partner.

The Heights is a modern adaptation of the classic story of Heathcliff and Cathy – set in the late 20th century, against the backdrop of the miners’ strike and the decline of a once proud mining community in Yorkshire.

Juliet Bell is the pen name for my writing partnership with Alison May. It all started at a conference a couple of years ago. We each led a workshop, and both used Wuthering Heights to illustrate very different points.

This is a book I have wanted to write for years. I am a huge fan of the original. I have often heard people talk of Heathcliff as a romantic hero and Wuthering Heights as a great love story. In my mind, that’s just not true. Heathcliff is a fascinating character… but he’s no hero. It’s not really a story about love, it’s a story about obsession and the destruction it can cause. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Bubbly splash and blog splash

My friend Rhoda Baxter is celebrating today – the best kind of celebration for an author – a new book. Some of us have a splash of champagne to celebrate ( yep, that’s my favourite too), and today Rhoda is doing a blog splash to mark the launch of Girl in Trouble.

She’s asked a few of us to join her. Rhoda writes smart funny books and I’m a fan, so this seemed like a good idea to me, not the least because it introduced me to something new… The Octonauts.

I love these guys almost as much as I love The Clangers.

Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss
1 2 3 31
Writing retreats 2018 - Intensive tutor-led retreats with Janet Gover and Alison May
Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence Finalist for The Wild OneColorado Romance Writers Award of Excellence Finalist for The Wild One
Email sign-up
Sign up to my email list to be the first to hear about new releases, special offers, competitions and other exciting news. You'll only get emails from me, and those not very often.
* = required field

powered by MailChimp!
Archives