Award winning outback romance

Bookings are now open for my three 2020 residential writing retreats, co-tutored with RNA Chair Alison May. Details can be found here.

Writing

Royal Wedding Countdown #6

This couple looked very familiar

 

I am a really good tourist.

Seriously. I love travelling and when I travel I buy souvenirs. My house is full of them. I once had a competition going with a friend to see who could find the tackiest souvenir ever. And yes, there are a few Royal wedding souvenirs that might be eligible… but that doesn’t mean we can’t celebrate the whole idea of souvenirs … because that’s how we remember the good times.

Wandering around Windsor, there is a wealth of choice.

Some of you may know I have a life sized cardboard cutout of Mr Spock from the original Star Trek series (don’t ask).

If that would be your souvenir of choice for a royal wedding – you might have to fight for it. There were a lot of selfies being taken. I love that so many people just smiled when they saw the figures. That’s always a good thing. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Its time to get excited.

Keeping up with these neighbours is a bit difficult.

 

Counting down…

A couple of my neighbours are getting ready for a wedding. By neighbours, I mean them that live in that big castle just a couple of miles up the road from me.

It’s a week until Prince Harry and Meghan Markle get married at Windsor Castle. As an Australian, I find all things royal to be quite fascinating. There’s history there – and traditions that we don’t have Down Under. That’s why I wrote a royal wedding novel (before this engagement was even announced).

Anyway I thought I would count down to the big day with some of things about the royal wedding that make me smile….

This required a day spent wandering around Windsor in the lovely spring Sunshine – gosh, the things I force myself to do. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

A royal wedding invitation

My very pretty cover. It’s so romantic.

I’m very excited about the upcoming royal wedding. No… not THAT royal wedding.

This month, I have a new book out – Marrying The Rebel Prince.

It’s a Cinderella story – and everyone loves a Cinderella story. I actually wrote it before Prince Harry and Meghan Markle announced their engagement, but it seemed a lovely idea to release it just before that wedding.

I had such fun writing this book, its light hearted and romantic and I really want the heroine to be my BFF. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Move over Oscar

This week saw the Romantic Novelists’ Association RoNA Awards event. This is one of the highlights of my year – and even more so this year as I was one of the shortlisted authors. Wedding Bells by the Creek didn’t win it’s category, but that’s ok. The award went to my friend Jane Lovering – who writes funny, uplifting romances. She certainly deserved to win.

The evening was brilliant – a chance to catch up with friends and to celebrate some wonderful books and their equally fabulous authors. We writers spend a lot of time chained to our desks. We don’t get out that much. But when we do….

I am already looking forward to next year.

 

The RoNA ROSE shortlist – with the winner, Jane Lovering on the right.

 

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

It’s TV but not as I knew it

Being a TV reporter involved a lot of people and equipment.

I started my writing career as a TV journalist at Channel 7 in Brisbane, Australia in 19… umm. Let’s not go there. Let’s just say I was a teenager and leave it at that. My first TV interview involved a big camera and a large hand-held microphone. There were lights and sometimes a person whose job it was just to check the sound. For those interviews, I was behind the microphone asking questions.

A few days ago, for my most recent interview, I was in front of the camera answering questions. As for the way it was done, it was so far from those early TV jobs that it was like being in another world. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

I am honoured to announce…

Thank you to the readers who liked Ed and Helen’s story.

I am absolutely thrilled to announce that Wedding Bells By The Creek has been shortlisted for the RoNA ROSE Award, presented by the Romantic Novelists’ Association. The award is for a romantic novella, and I am one of five on the shortlist.

This book tells the story of an older couple – who have taken more than their fair share of knocks in their lives. It’s a book that says love and romance is for everyone – not just the young and beautiful. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

A new book and a new me.

Here it is – introducing Juliet Bell.

I’m really pleased to at last be able to reveal some exciting news. I’ve been keeping this secret for what seems like forever… but now I can announce that I have new book coming out soon – in a new genre, with a new name and a writing partner.

The Heights is a modern adaptation of the classic story of Heathcliff and Cathy – set in the late 20th century, against the backdrop of the miners’ strike and the decline of a once proud mining community in Yorkshire.

Juliet Bell is the pen name for my writing partnership with Alison May. It all started at a conference a couple of years ago. We each led a workshop, and both used Wuthering Heights to illustrate very different points.

This is a book I have wanted to write for years. I am a huge fan of the original. I have often heard people talk of Heathcliff as a romantic hero and Wuthering Heights as a great love story. In my mind, that’s just not true. Heathcliff is a fascinating character… but he’s no hero. It’s not really a story about love, it’s a story about obsession and the destruction it can cause. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Deadline terror…

This week we are having a debate on deadlines over on the Take Five Authors blog.

Last week Pam was talking about deadlines from an Indy author’s perspective. This week I’m looking at deadlines from a traditional author’s perspective.

Pop on over and let us know how you feel about that ticking clock…

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Changing direction

This week I can be found over on the Take Five Authors blog – where I am talking about leaving home, changing direction and new people and places.

It’s all about books of course –

Here’s a hint.

It’s all about this rolled up bit of cardboard on my desk.

Do pop over to the Take Five Authors blog and see what I am up to.

 

 

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

An evening of romantic fiction

David Headley of Goldsboro Books welcomes everyone to the party.

Fine spring evenings are wonderful. And they are even better when you can spend it in one of your favourite places.

For me this week that was Cecil Court in the centre of London. Cecil Court is a lovely old street, now a pedestrian way, filled with lovely old shops selling books – old and new, old maps and art and no end of interesting ‘stuff’.

My favourite shop in this favourite street is Goldsboro Books – where I have spent far too much money on several occasions.

And this week, it was my honour to be invited to be part of their annual ‘Romance in the Court’ evening. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Writing retreats 2020 - Intensive tutor-led retreats with Janet Gover and Alison May

Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence Finalist for The Wild OneColorado Romance Writers Award of Excellence Finalist for The Wild One
Email sign-up
Sign up to my email list to be the first to hear about new releases, special offers, competitions and other exciting news. You'll only get emails from me, and those not very often.
* = required field

powered by MailChimp!
Archives