Janet Gover

Award winning outback romance

Bookings are now open for my Online Writing Lab, under the auspices of the Romance Writers of Australia. It’s all about editing and polishing your work to give it the best possible chance in a competitive world. Make your book the best it can be. You don’t have to be in Australia to join in. Details here.  

Royal Wedding Countdown #6

This couple looked very familiar

 

I am a really good tourist.

Seriously. I love travelling and when I travel I buy souvenirs. My house is full of them. I once had a competition going with a friend to see who could find the tackiest souvenir ever. And yes, there are a few Royal wedding souvenirs that might be eligible… but that doesn’t mean we can’t celebrate the whole idea of souvenirs … because that’s how we remember the good times.

Wandering around Windsor, there is a wealth of choice.

Some of you may know I have a life sized cardboard cutout of Mr Spock from the original Star Trek series (don’t ask).

If that would be your souvenir of choice for a royal wedding – you might have to fight for it. There were a lot of selfies being taken. I love that so many people just smiled when they saw the figures. That’s always a good thing. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Its time to get excited.

Keeping up with these neighbours is a bit difficult.

 

Counting down…

A couple of my neighbours are getting ready for a wedding. By neighbours, I mean them that live in that big castle just a couple of miles up the road from me.

It’s a week until Prince Harry and Meghan Markle get married at Windsor Castle. As an Australian, I find all things royal to be quite fascinating. There’s history there – and traditions that we don’t have Down Under. That’s why I wrote a royal wedding novel (before this engagement was even announced).

Anyway I thought I would count down to the big day with some of things about the royal wedding that make me smile….

This required a day spent wandering around Windsor in the lovely spring Sunshine – gosh, the things I force myself to do. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

A royal wedding invitation

My very pretty cover. It’s so romantic.

I’m very excited about the upcoming royal wedding. No… not THAT royal wedding.

This month, I have a new book out – Marrying The Rebel Prince.

It’s a Cinderella story – and everyone loves a Cinderella story. I actually wrote it before Prince Harry and Meghan Markle announced their engagement, but it seemed a lovely idea to release it just before that wedding.

I had such fun writing this book, its light hearted and romantic and I really want the heroine to be my BFF. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Move over Oscar

This week saw the Romantic Novelists’ Association RoNA Awards event. This is one of the highlights of my year – and even more so this year as I was one of the shortlisted authors. Wedding Bells by the Creek didn’t win it’s category, but that’s ok. The award went to my friend Jane Lovering – who writes funny, uplifting romances. She certainly deserved to win.

The evening was brilliant – a chance to catch up with friends and to celebrate some wonderful books and their equally fabulous authors. We writers spend a lot of time chained to our desks. We don’t get out that much. But when we do….

I am already looking forward to next year.

 

The RoNA ROSE shortlist – with the winner, Jane Lovering on the right.

 

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

It’s TV but not as I knew it

Being a TV reporter involved a lot of people and equipment.

I started my writing career as a TV journalist at Channel 7 in Brisbane, Australia in 19… umm. Let’s not go there. Let’s just say I was a teenager and leave it at that. My first TV interview involved a big camera and a large hand-held microphone. There were lights and sometimes a person whose job it was just to check the sound. For those interviews, I was behind the microphone asking questions.

A few days ago, for my most recent interview, I was in front of the camera answering questions. As for the way it was done, it was so far from those early TV jobs that it was like being in another world. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

I am honoured to announce…

Thank you to the readers who liked Ed and Helen’s story.

I am absolutely thrilled to announce that Wedding Bells By The Creek has been shortlisted for the RoNA ROSE Award, presented by the Romantic Novelists’ Association. The award is for a romantic novella, and I am one of five on the shortlist.

This book tells the story of an older couple – who have taken more than their fair share of knocks in their lives. It’s a book that says love and romance is for everyone – not just the young and beautiful. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Emily, The Jedi and Me.

I know he wasn’t wearing the silly helmet when he recorded The Heights – but I might pretend he was.

I’ve been having some Sci Fi fun.

It started with the news that the audio edition of The Heights had been recorded ready for release. The actor who read the book was Jonathan Oliver. I immediately google him and found out that he’d played a role in Star Wars : Return of the Jedi. Ok – he was on the wrong side, but I still had an excited fan moment …. The original Star Wars films are among my favourite films of all time. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

The Heights on tour

This week, The Heights sets out on a blog tour.

It’s always a nervous time for me when a book goes out into the world. I have my fingers crossed that people like it.

If you want to know a bit more about the book – stop by the blogs.

Monday 8th Jan – Bookish Jottings

Tuesday 9th Jan – Varietats

Wednesday 10th Jan – BRMaycock’s Book Blog

Thursday 1tth Jan – Charyl M M’s Book Blog

I don’t know what any of the reviewers are going to say in advance – but I have been thrilled at the Amazon reviews already …

” Emily Brontë’s themes stand the test of time and this collaboration is a compelling tribute. Definitely recommend. Five stars. ”

” I stayed up until silly o’clock in the morning to finish it … ”

” I read it in one reading, it was so riveting. ”

” Yes, it works – I did enjoy it, and to do so you really don’t need to be a fan or to be familiar with the original story. ”

Those are the sorts of things that make my day, because when all is said and done, I write books for readers.

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

Publication Day!

Today is the best day of a writer’s calendar… it’s publication day for a new book.

It’s also the birthday of a new writing identity… Juliet Bell.

The book is The Heights – a book I’ve been wanting to write for a very long time. It’s an adaptation of Wuthering Heights, which is one of my all-time favourite books.

Wuthering Heights is one of those books that people tend to either love or hate. It’s dark and disturbing and the characters tend to also be dark and not particularly likeable. Many, many people die in Wuthering Heights and it doesn’t exactly have a happy ending. While it’s often referred to as romantic novel, I don’t think it is. It’s a look at the darker side of relationships, and for me is totally compelling. I’ve read it many times, and no matter how familiar the story is, it always captivates me. Continue reading

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss

It’s that time again…

I cannot think where this year has gone – it seems to have passed in a flash.
It has been an exciting year for me – and I want to say a big thank you to all my lovely readers, friends and supporters who have shared it with me. I hope you have a wonderful holiday season, filled with the people you love and things to make you smile.
2018 is just around the corner – and I wish nothing but happiness for you and yours in the year ahead.
I looked forward to sharing my year with you.

 

 

 

 

Share this page...
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmail
Follow Janet here...
FacebooktwitterpinterestrssFacebooktwitterpinterestrss
Writing retreats 2018 - Intensive tutor-led retreats with Janet Gover and Alison May
Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence Finalist for The Wild OneColorado Romance Writers Award of Excellence Finalist for The Wild One

Email sign-up

Sign up to my email list to be the first to hear about new releases, special offers, competitions and other exciting news. You'll only get emails from me, and those not very often.
* = required field

powered by MailChimp!

Archives